To sparge or not to sparge…

I just can’t get my head around the idea of “no-sparge” brewing. Arrrgh!!!! It seems truly sacrilegious. I have been trying to embrace the idea but I am pulling my hair out. Yeah it saves time but…it just doesn’t seem right.

Kinda like my philosophy about parachuting (if you know me you understand)…there is absolutely no good reason to fling yourself out of a perfectly good airplane. Same goes for all-grain brewing…why would you not lauter your mash? Brewers have been lautering for hundreds of years.

The only thing that intriques me about “no-sparge” brewing is the promise of maltier beers (cue the harp playing angels). With my love of maltier beers I might  try it sometime.

Maybe.

2 thoughts on “To sparge or not to sparge…

  1. I had the same feeling. The best way to overcome the efficiency loss and overall sense of shame is to do a parti-gyle brew. Make one beer with the first runnings, then sparge away to make your second!

    • Very true Mike. Since my post I have done a few BIAB batches and I think I’m cured. I can sparge if I want to but feeling a lot better about not sparging and BIAB.

Comments are closed.